top of page

Dr. Amy Krambeck completed her undergraduate degree and medical school at the University of Missouri-Columbia School of Medicine where she graduated summa cum laude.  In medical school she was appointed to the the Alpha Omega Alpha society and also received the Janet M. Glascow award, which is awarded to the woman who graduates as Valedictorian of their Medical School class. Dr. Krambeck completed her urology residency at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, MN in 2008. She received the prestigious Mayo Brothers Distinguished Fellowship award in 2007, which is presented to select residents and fellows for outstanding clinical performance, humanitarianism and scholarly activity.  

She completed her Endourology Fellowship at the Methodist Hospital in Indianapolis in 2009. From 2009-16 she was the Endourology fellowship director at the Mayo Clinic Department of Urology. In 2016, she became the chief of Urology at Methodist Hospital in Indianapolis. In December 2020, Dr. Krambeck was recruited to Northwestern University as one of their expert surgeons.  She will be the first surgeon in Chicago to perform HoLEP. Dr. Krambeck is an internationally recognized expert in the surgical and medical treatment of stone disease and benign prostatic hypertrophy (BPH).  She has won numerous awards, including the Arthur D. Smith Award as mentioned below.

Education & Training

Dec 2020 - Present

Professor of Urology, Northwestern University

Dr. Krambeck was recently recruited to Northwestern University to bring HoLEP to Chicago.


Professor of Urology, Indiana University

Michael E. Koch Professor of Urology, Methodist Hospital Division Chair of Urology, Endourology Fellowship Director.


Professor of Urology, Mayo Clinic

Professor of Urology; Fellowship Director for Endourology at Mayo Clinic


Endourology Fellowship

Completed advanced training in Percutaneous Nephrolithotomy (PCNL) and Holmium Laser Enucleation of Prostate (HoLEP)


Residency, Mayo Clinic

Completed Internship and Urology Residency at Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN. Won the First Place Award for Resident Essay the Joseph W. Segura Award in 2005 and 2008. Received the Mayo Brothers Distinguished Fellowship Award in 2007.


Research Publications

- 2035, Publication Title -

The authors identified that Dr. Krambeck's team is highly successful in achieving same day discharge after HoLEP even in very large prostate glands

- 2035, Publication Title -

The authors identified that the true failure rate of OF-URS is higher than previously thought at 16.6% and 14.0%. However, efforts to reduce opioid prescriptions with OF-URS pathways have successfully reduced new-persistent opioid use.


The inaugural recipient of Northwestern Medicine's Distinguished Physician in Urologic Innovation

Dr. Amy Krambeck is the inaugural recipient of Northwestern Medicine's Distinguished Physician in Urologic Innovation for her outstanding contributions, surgical advances and scholarship in the field of Endourology. This is the highest honor at Northwestern Medicine that can bestow on a faculty member. 

If you would like to find out more about Dr. Krambeck's research, click below.

bottom of page