About Dr. Krambeck

Dr. Amy Krambeck completed her undergraduate degree and medical school at the University of Missouri-Columbia School of Medicine where she graduated summa cum laude.  In medical school she was appointed to the the Alpha Omega Alpha society and also received the Janet M. Glascow award, which is awarded to the woman who graduates as Valedictorian of their Medical School class. Dr. Krambeck completed her urology residency at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, MN in 2008. She received the prestigious Mayo Brothers Distinguished Fellowship award in 2007, which is presented to select residents and fellows for outstanding clinical performance, humanitarianism and scholarly activity.  She completed her Endourology Fellowship at the Methodist Hospital in Indianapolis in 2009. From 2009-16 she was the Endourology fellowship director at the Mayo Clinic Department of Urology. In 2016, she became the chief of Urology at Methodist Hospital in Indianapolis. In December 2020, Dr. Krambeck was recruited to Northwestern University as one of their expert surgeons.  She will be the first surgeon in Chicago to perform HoLEP. Dr. Krambeck is an internationally recognized expert in the surgical and medical treatment of stone disease and benign prostatic hypertrophy (BPH).  She has won numerous awards, including the Arthur D. Smith Award as mentioned below.


Training And Qualifications

Dec 2020 - Present

Professor of Urology, Northwestern University

Dr. Krambeck was recently recruited to Northwestern University to bring HoLEP to Chicago.


Professor of Urology, Indiana University

Michael E. Koch Professor of Urology, Methodist Hospital Division Chair of Urology, Endourology Fellowship Director.


Professor of Urology, Mayo Clinic

Professor of Urology; Fellowship Director for Endourology at Mayo Clinic


Endourology Fellowship

Completed advanced training in Percutaneous Nephrolithotomy (PCNL) and Holmium Laser Enucleation of Prostate (HoLEP)


Residency, Mayo Clinic

Completed Internship and Urology Residency at Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN. Won the First Place Award for Resident Essay the Joseph W. Segura Award in 2005 and 2008. Received the Mayo Brothers Distinguished Fellowship Award in 2007.


Awards and Honors

Dr. Krambeck is an internationally renowned advanced endoscopic surgeon.  She is regularly asked to participate in guideline panels, give lectures, perform live surgeries, and to moderate sessions


IU Health: Values Leadership Award


Awarded to faculty who demonstrate outstanding contribution to the health of patients and the community through excellence in care, education, research, and service.

Screenshot 2020-10-02 at 2.39.03 PM.jpeg

Guest Lecturer at Chinese Urological Doctor Association


Dr. Krambeck is frequently asked to deliver lectures and moderate seminars given her expertise in kidney stones and HoLEP.  Here she is shown performing live surgery in China for the Chinese Urological Doctor Association.  Dr. Krambeck is seen sitting in the middle of the photo.


Recipient of the Arthur D. Smith Award


The "Arthur Smith Award" was established in 2004 in honor of the "Father of Endourology".  It is presented to a urologist who is within 10 years of completing residency or fellowship and who has already achieved distinction through myriad contributions to the field of Endourology in research and teaching.

1704221 SOM AlumniAwards-243_Resized.jpg

Outstanding Young Physician Award


This award is presented by the University of Missouri-Columbia Medical Alumni Organization to distinguished alumni under the age of 45.


Distinguished Reviewer for Journal of Endourology


Dr. Krambeck was recognized as a Top 10 Reviewer


Mayo Brothers Distinguished Fellowship Award


An award established for the qualities associated with Mayo Clinic founders William J. and Charles H. Mayo. Each year since 1997 residents or fellows are chosen to receive the award based on outstanding clinical performance, humanitarianism and scholarly activity.


Joseph W. Segura Resident Essay Award

2005 and 2008

The resident with the best publication is chosen to receive the Joseph W. Segura Resident Essay Award.  Dr. Krambeck received this award twice.


Honors and collaborations

Dr. Krambeck has served on numerous guideline and quality improvement committees. She is frequently asked to serve as an editor for peer-reviewed journals or to moderate sessions / programming.  Below is a short list of just some these commitments:

Editor for AUA news

Editorial board for Journal of Endourology

AUA Education committee

Endourological Society Data and Research Committee

Endourology Disease Group for Excellence Research Consortium

Host for Masterclass in Endourology and Robotics (EUS)


press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom